First blog – Race day with my vegetarian girlfriend!

Hello all, this is my first blog. I had my 3rd race this morning! A little bit about my self before I get into the race! I’m a grade 12 student who lives in Canada. I enjoying running immensely, and discovered this just this last June. My vegetarian girlfriend was the one to motivated me to start running, and now I can’t stop! I’ve run over 600 miles since the beginning of June, many of those miles run with her. I play soccer, and am planning on joining cross-country this year at school. My goals are to run marathons, ultra marathons, and possibly even run across Canada one day! First things first, I have to run a half marathon, which is planned for the end of this month. I have an amazing girlfriend, a big brother, and a 3-year-old sister. I’m a big fan of Gandhi, and I enjoy reading/listening to podcasts a lot.

I am writing this blog today because I wish to motivate others with my life, to keep myself motivated about running, and other activities. I also hope that this blog will encourage me to do interesting things every day! I wish to answer questions that people may have and encourage them in their day-to-day life. In future blogs I’ll share more about myself, and more about my day.

Now about the race! It was a team duathlon event, and my team was called “2 fast 1 furious”, the furious one being our biker in the group. The group consisted of my girlfriend Avery, who was first leg, her best friend whose a national biking competitor, and biked for our team, and me who ran as last runner. Avery and I ran 5km, and her friend biked 20km. It was an epic race, and I PR’ed at 18:59, and we won the mixed duathlon team event!! The race had a decent elevation and had  a total number of 178 participants, which was great for my small city, and for how new the event is! My best friend nik, my family, Avery’s family and her good friend all watched! It was a great day, and it was nice put a gold medal on the quickly growing running wall!

12011239_10153493575061508_3471913471984544194_n

Well that’s it for today. If you enjoyed it, or are curious, leave a question and Ill be sure to answer it. Future blogs will be longer, as I will share all about my day. I’ll leave you guys with one of my favorite quotes “First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win” – Gandhi 

3 thoughts on “First blog – Race day with my vegetarian girlfriend!

Leave a Reply

