The Warrior way of living

Last night, I slept very well. Slept in through theater as my alarm went off, and then I accidentally fell back asleep. First time doing that all year, so my teacher was fine with it. During my spare block, I finished the Notebook with Avery. Wow, so depressing. I enjoyed it, but its not the type of movie I like to watch often. I don’t like leaving a movie feeling sad, because well, I don’t like being sad! The day went by slow. This semester I have Peer tutoring, in which I go to a grade 9 math class and help out. It is a lot of fun so far, helping those kids who really have no motivation, and terrible work habits. For me, my work habits were alright throughout grade 8-10, but they weren’t great. In the back of my head, I knew that the grades didn’t matter until grade 11-12, so I didn’t try much at all. I still got about an 85% throughout, as my habits weren’t nearly as bad as a lot of peoples. Anyways, by me doing this, I expected starting trying to be a lot easier than it was. Not only did I have to start trying harder, but I had to develop good work habits. This is when I realized the importance of good habits in earlier grades, I really wish I knew this before.

Anyhow, that’s my goal, to instill good work habits for these kids. So far, they have respond well, the few that I’ve helped. I’ve been directed to help only a certain few kids because they have the worst habits, so my jobs a lot easier. I want them to not only develop good habits, but for them to become motivated to succeed. Too many kids are lazy, and don’t care about anything it seems. I don’t understand them at all, but I do know that their life will be very unhappy if they keep up those habits.

The lady from last Wednesday presented again. She was great.Avery came again! We went into a circle, and discussed who our leader was, and what we want to change. She focused largely that nothing is impossible. No idea is too large for us to take on. It really motivated me. I plan to brainstorm soon ideas of how I can accomplish what I want to see happen. Examples of what I said I wanted to have done were improve health care in poor countries, and a big one for me is just how when one celebrity dies, its on the news for several weeks, and everyone morns. Yet I never hear about the thousands of people who die a day in the poor countries. It’s terrible, its like we all just turn our head to the reality that’s going on in our world. Are you aware that every single second, one person dies from starvation. Canadians waste $31 billion of food every year, 47% wasted in the home. I don’t understand how these two things can be statistics in one world. We are all humans, so why is this crap still intact. Here are some more stats that are about Canada.

Food insecurity in Canada:

  • 1 in 8 Canadian families struggle to put food on the table.
  • 32% of the people requiring food assistance are children.
  • 79,000 people each month access a food bank for the first time

Facts were taken from http://www.secondharvest.ca/hunger-facts

I could rant all day, but in reality I’m not doing a lot either. I’ve served at St. Vincents once (a place where food is given out to homeless), and I have helped/volunteered in a lot of food drives with the school. However, I could do, and plan to start doing a lot more to help with this food problem.I also plan to not waste my food, to eat everything on my plate, and to try and make sure nothing goes “bad”(avocado going brown) in my house. I encourage you to do the same.

Next I met with my mom’s friend Scott. Scott is the one who got me on the warriors diet (talked on phone, cause mom mentioned it to me), and I wanted to learn more about him because he seemed interesting,  and also about the diet (or I like to call it way of living). He likes a chess a lot, and is just a very interesting character in good way. It was nice meeting him, and he is going to teach me to be better at chess, which is awesome.

 

 

 

The meeting was short, as I had to pick of Julia and get her home. Once I got home I made a schedule for the night, to keep productive and on track.

Schedule: 5:30-10:15

5:30-6:30: Get English Homework questions done

6:30-7:00: Play a chess game

7:00-7:15: Phone grandma

7:15-7:30: Start math homework

7:30-8:00: Prep dinner

8:00-8:30: Eat dinner

8:30-8:45: Dishes

8:45-9:30 Math homework

9:30-10:00 Blog

10:00-1015: Set reminders for next day, get ready for bed.

See as I’m blogging this at 10:27, it obviously got a little off track. Although I was very productive and got a lot done! I will do this more often now. My grandma was very appreciative of the call, and it was nice talking to her. We just talked about how she was, and how I was, and general stuff. My dinner was epic. I must’ve had about 20 gyozas, or some people call them pot stickers. I also had a very big bowl of salad, and a bagel. I waited till 8 tonight to eat, and didn’t eat all day. I felt great again today, a lot more energy, and clearer minded for sure. I recommend that you try this “diet”, see how you feel. If you don;t notice a change within a couple of days, quit! Guaranteed you will though.

Check out my dinner!

12746599_1219900828024823_1449433527_n

12665677_1219900858024820_426105453_n
How much salad I ate!

12736081_1219900838024822_1442489249_n

12696278_1219900864691486_1852868447_n
Blueberry bagel with peanut butter and huckleberry honey

Feedback is appreciated! I did not run today. Featured image credits: Susan-Chuck Chin‎

Quote of the blog: “The best way to predict the future is to create it” – Peter Drucker

 

3 thoughts on “The Warrior way of living

Leave a Reply

